HAPPINESS, LIKE THIS

by Lisa

Play Wiffle Ball

Throw a Frisbee

Watch rain from a porch

Ride a big girl trike

Picnic

Paint anything that holds still

Drive away without a map but with a tent

Do yoga

Drink water

Grow my hair long, long, long

Visit a strange place with familiar people

Visit a familiar place alone

Work as an artist’s model

Restring the banjo to an open chord

Play it

Learn how to speak French without blushing

Burn incense

Dust

Apply for a job that I’m not qualified to do, and get an interview

Get my dry cleaning done more than once a year

Demand to learn to engrave

Host

Find serving dishes and diner dishes to stack on the cupboard shelves

Point out beautiful, mundane things to my small person, like the texture of stacks of plates and mugs all in rows

Run while I still can

Crochet until that blanket is big enough for two

Convince myself that knitting is never going to happen

Mow the lawn

Make the lawn smaller

Dance

Eat outdoors

I brought that patio table along for a reason, you know

Get rid of

Get rid of more

Maybe even get rid of a whole car

Learn the laws of the bike trails regarding mopeds

Get a moped and make it run like new

Learn to rebuild a thing like a moped

Take a class just because I love the subject

Take a train

Take three classes because my life got in the way before I could finish them

Embrace an empty day

Release guilt over sleep

Sleep differently

Dream just as much

Listen to the dreams carefully

Floss

Kayak

Canoe

Cook

Grow

Remember the recipe.  It’s foolproof.

MOPED EXPLODED

 

