MYSELF, IN LOVE

by Lisa

Today is Valentine’s Day, and I am in love.

His presence in my life makes me want to be my best self just because I know my best self, like I wanted to be the best at everything a short time ago.  I have learned that my best self doesn’t include comparisons.  There is only one way to be me, genuinely.  The man I love has shown me that, wordlessly, by example.

To be in love differs from infatuation.  Yes, I was that, too, and sometimes I still am that endorphin-high giggling girl.  Infatuation almost hurts with its intensity.  This love, this complicated and unexplainable sense of correctness–in the right place, without a doubt, with the right person, at the right time–this love does not falter.  There are no lows between the highs, just even-hearted tenderness and trust.

Today is Valentine’s Day, and I am very much in love.

