WHEN GRAM STEPPED ON GUM IN THAT HOTEL ROOM IN 1990-SOMETHING

by Lisa

I’ve only landed in a truly dirty hotel once.
It looked nice from the outside: impressive round towering skyscraper of a thing smack in the middle of a crappy neighborhood. A possible oasis among the cars without wheels, I thought, a throwback to when the city was really Capital.
I unfolded the sleeper sofa (my spot at sixteen or eighteen) and out popped a stiff washcloth. Weird. Then Gram stepped on a condom which was at first believed to be chewing gum. My mother was not along for that trip, but if she had been, we may have had to get in the car and drive back home and skip the bowling tournament altogether. 
We packed up and migrated to the Motel 6, which was swanky, in my opinion, and I liked the radio ads.
They had left the light on for us.
